After 45 years of teaching students to drive, Ayala and Assoc. Driving School will be closing on Dec. 1, 2017 to allow a well deserved retirement for Mr. Ayala. As a result, we will no longer be offering any more teenage classes.
On behalf of the entire Ayala Family, thank you for trusting us with the most important people in your life for nearly half a century.
We are a TEA (Texas Education Agency) approved and licensed course.
Monday – Thursday 4:30pm or 6:30-8:30pm during the school year and Monday-Friday 10:00am-12:00pm, 12:30pm-2:30pm or 4:00-6:00pm during the summer.
Student needs to be 15-21 years old (We do accept older students as well)
The course is about 4 weeks long (16 days for 2 hours each day). It is a 32 hour course which is required by the state of Texas. The dates of the classroom do not necessarily include the 14 hours of behind the wheel also required by the state. The behind-the-wheel (actual driving) is a separate course which is taught by a different set of instructors once the student acquires their permit (normally some time after day 4 of the class, after passing our test and going to DPS with our certificate). The student will have 6 months from the start date to complete all driving hours.
The final hour of behind-the-wheel driving will be given in a format similar to the test that the student will receive at the Department of Public Safety when they go to apply for their drivers license. The student will not receive their final certificate from us until they have passed the test that they will receive during this final hour of the driving portion of the course. If they fail the test on their first attempt, subsequent attempts will incur a charge of $45 per attempt until they successfully pass the test.
$385 total, which will cover all the classroom (32 hour course) and required 14 hours (7 actual drive and 7 observation) of driving. We require at least $145 down of the $385 total in order to start our class with the balance of $240 due by the last day of the classroom. We accept payment in the form of checks, cash, and money orders as well as Visa or MasterCard Credit Cards.
Starting in September
|Starts||Ends||Days of the week||Class Times|
|Sep. 11||Oct. 12||Mon-Thurs||6:30PM - 8:30PM|
|Sep. 25||Oct. 26||Mon-Thurs||4:30PM - 6:30PM|
- Parent’s Guide to Behind The Wheel Instruction
- Student’s 30 Hour Log (For students who began after September 1, 2013)
- Do you have what it takes to drive in Texas?
- ¿Tiene lo que se necesita para conducir en Texas?
20 Hour Behind-the-Wheel Instruction Log Tips
- Hours have to take place on a minimum of 20 different days. Only 1 hour of behind-the-wheel instruction per day will count toward the requisite 20 hours.
- 10 of the 20 hours must take place at night time.
- Night Time is defined as one half-hour after the sun has set. Mid-November through Mid-March, night time begins at 7PM. Mid-March through Mid-November, night time begins at 8:30PM.
- The signature and driver’s license number of the supervising adult must be written after each logged hour on the space provided on the log sheet.
- Don’t forget to put your student’s permit number after your name in the DL# space. Your permit number will be your driver’s license number after you pass your driving exam at DPS.